Tuesday, March 10, 2020

How will Oklahoma Senate Republicans vote tomorrow: to end abortion -- or save it?


Tomorrow, State Senator Joseph Silk (R-Broken Bow) will make a motion to bring Senate Bill 13 (the Abolition of Abortion in Oklahoma Act) directly to the floor of the Senate for immediate consideration. Republicans will be fully responsible for either voting to hear the bill, or voting to prematurely kill the bill like the 5,000 babies murdered in the womb every year in this state.

This happens tomorrow:
A motion is going to be made in the State Senate on Wednesday to bring SB13 directly to the floor for a hearing. A motion to table this motion will likely be made by an establishment Republican and that motion to table will get a vote immediately. So, on Wednesday, the Senate will vote on whether to hear SB13 or whether to table it for good.

On February 11, three thousand people showed up to the State Capitol for the Abolition Day rally to demand SB13. Thousands of abolitionists from across the state have been constantly emailing and calling their state Senators asking them to support SB13. The Oklahoma Baptists, Oklahoma Free Will Baptists, and Oklahoma Republican Party all passed resolutions demanding SB13. Yet because of Greg McCortney and Greg Treat hardening their hearts, the bill hasn’t even been heard. It was tabled in committee and the deadline for bills passing out of committee has passed.

A bill does not have to pass out of committee, however. It can be brought straight to the Senate floor if a motion to do so is filed and a majority of the Senate votes in favor of hearing the bill.
Up until now, Senate Bill 13 has languished in the Health and Human Services Committee. Under two different chairmen, during two legislative sessions, the measure has been denied a fair hearing. The twelve senators on the committee are the only members of the Oklahoma Senate that have had the opportunity to directly act on SB13. Up until this point, the rest of the 48-member Senate has been able to say that they had no ability to vote on the Abolition of Abortion in Oklahoma Act.

That ends tomorrow.

On Wednesday, each and every member of the Oklahoma Senate will cast literally the most important and life-impacting vote of their entire legislative career until this point. Nothing that they have done previously will have the most direct impact on life and death as this impending vote will carry.

Tomorrow's vote will truly determine the foundational ethic of each and every Senator. Their vote will demonstrate whether they really want to see abortion ended in Oklahoma, or whether they are a-okay with it continuing.

Every year, 5,000 babies are murdered in Oklahoma by the act of abortion. Each and every year, the death toll continues to pile up. Abortion is on an upward trajectory in Oklahoma over the past few years, despite everything that past pro-life legislatures have done.


We can end this. It can begin to end tomorrow, if and only if the Oklahoma Senate lines up on the side of God Almighty and the Sanctity of Human Life, and against the cult of Death and the legislative enabling of abortion.

Every senator will be on full record tomorrow. There will be no "I'm not on that committee" excuse. There will be nothing to hide behind, nobody to use as a shield. The searing light of truth will expose the character of every member, whether for better or for worse.

I will lose readers over this post. I am sure I will see unsubscribes when this article goes out on the MuskogeePolitico email newsletter. Quite frankly, I. Do. Not. Care. I don't write to be on everybody's good side. This is far more important than that. Right stands resolute in confrontation of Wrong. Truth must be spoken.

Most of the Oklahoma state senators profess to be Christians. Many of them are active in their churches. Some of them serve or have served as pastors, elders, or deacons. Bible-believing Christians recognize that all life is a gift from God (Ps. 139:13-16), that we are all made in the image of God (Gen. 1:27), and that God hates the shedding of innocent blood (Ex. 20:13Gen. 9:6Prov. 6:17). We are called to love our neighbor (Matt. 22:37-40), to defend the fatherless and seek justice (Isa. 1:17Mic. 6:8), and to deliver those that are drawn away to death (Prov. 24:10-12). The Bible declares that God hates unrighteous decrees (Isa. 10:1-2). We ought to obey God rather than men (Acts 5:29).

To quote my pastor, "Good men cannot be silent while the babies scream for life."

The following faces will be responsible for weighty action on Wednesday. This will be the ultimate test of their campaign rhetoric and pro-life espousals. Future lives will literally depend on the outcome.

Senator Allen campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Bergstrom campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Bice campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Boggs campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Bullard campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Coleman campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Dahm campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Daniels campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator David campaigns on being pro-life. Senator Dossett campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion.

Will they vote to end abortion, or will they vote to facilitate the continued abortion holocaust in Oklahoma? Who will take a bold stand, and who will not?

Senator Dugger campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Hall campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Haste campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Howard campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Jech campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Kidd campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Leewright campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion.

Will their vote match their professed belief? Which of these will go down in the record unafraid to slay the abortion dragon?

Senator McCortney campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Montgomery campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Murdock campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Newhouse campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Paxton campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Pederson campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Pemberton campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Pugh campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Quinn campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Rader campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Rosino campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Scott campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion.

Tomorrow, can the unborn count on these men to defend their right to life, or will the abortionists be able to pat them on the back and thank them for not terminating their business of death? It will be one or the other.


Senator Sharp campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Shaw campaigns on being pro-life. Senator Silk will be voting to abolish abortion -- will any of his colleagues join him? Senator Simpson campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Standridge campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Stanislawski campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Stanley campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Thompson campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Treat campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion. Senator Rader campaigns on being pro-life and against abortion.

Which of these will champion the right to life, and which of these will vote to keep the abortion mills fed? 

You will never know the faces of those babies in the womb who will be affected by this vote, whichever way it goes. But you will know the faces of those who will vote to affect the very lives of those babies.

Remember these faces. Remember how they vote on Wednesday. Remember the next time they are on the ballot whether they voted to protect the babies, or whether they voted to protect the abortion houses.

Let these Senators know which side they should be counted on. Let them know that this vote is the most important that they will ever cast. Let them know that you are watching and waiting for them to take the right stand.

Find your Senator at this link, then send them an email (listed below alphabetically by last name) right now asking them to vote to hear and approve Senate Bill 13, the Abolition of Abortion in Oklahoma Act:
Mark.Allen@oksenate.gov,
Micheal.Bergstrom@oksenate.gov,
Larry.Boggs@oksenate.gov,
Mary.Boren@oksenate.gov,
Stephanie.Bice@oksenate.gov,
Michael.Brooks@oksenate.gov,
David.Bullard@oksenate.gov,
Bill.Coleman@oksenate.gov,
Nathan.Dahm@oksenate.gov,
Julie.Daniels@oksenate.gov,
Kim.David@oksenate.gov,
J.J.Dossett@oksenate.gov,
Tom.Dugger@oksenate.gov,
Kay.Floyd@oksenate.gov,
Chuck.Hall@oksenate.gov,
John.Haste@oksenate.gov,
Carri.Hicks@oksenate.gov,
Brent.Howard@oksenate.gov,
Allison.Ikley-Freeman@oksenate.gov,
Darcy.Jech@oksenate.gov,
Chris.Kidd@oksenate.gov,
Julia.Kirt@oksenate.gov,
James.Leewright@oksenate.gov,
Kevin.Matthews@oksenate.gov,
Greg.McCortney@oksenate.gov,
JohnMichael.Montgomery@oksenate.gov,
Casey.Murdock@oksenate.gov,
Joe.Newhouse@oksenate.gov,
Lonnie.Paxton@oksenate.gov,
Roland.Pederson@oksenate.gov,
Dewayne.Pemberton@oksenate.gov,
Adam.Pugh@oksenate.gov,
Marty.Quinn@oksenate.gov,
Dave.Rader@oksenate.gov,
Paul.Rosino@oksenate.gov,
Paul.Scott@oksenate.gov,
Ron.Sharp@oksenate.gov,
Wayne.Shaw@oksenate.govJoseph.Silk@oksenate.gov,
Frank.Simpson@oksenate.gov,
Rob.Standridge@oksenate.gov,
Gary.Stanislawski@oksenate.gov,
Brenda.Stanley@oksenate.gov,
Roger.Thompson@oksenate.gov,
Greg.Treat@oksenate.gov,
Darrell.Weaver@oksenate.gov,
George.Young@oksenate.gov,

0 comments: