Monday, February 17, 2020

5 new counties become Second Amendment Sanctuaries, bringing total to 13

Logan County Sheriff Damon Devereaux started a movement among county sheriffs in Oklahoma on Wednesday when he declared his county to be a Second Amendment Sanctuary County. Since then, a dozen more sheriffs have followed suit, being supported so far by at least one District Attorney and one board of county commissions.

Five new sheriffs published their declarations of Sanctuary status since Friday, bringing the total to thirteen. They are as follows:

  1. Logan County
  2. Stephens County
  3. Canadian County
  4. Haskell County
  5. Bryan County
  6. Pittsburg County
  7. LeFlore County
  8. Cimarron County
  9. Coal County
  10. Cotton County
  11. Kiowa County
  12. Pushmataha County
  13. Latimer County
There will almost assuredly be more to join the list today. Multiple county commisson boards will be hearing resolutions today that support their sheriffs in this endeavor.


Post a Comment

PLEASE INCLUDE YOUR NAME when commenting. Anonymous comments may be rejected if NOT accompanied by a name.

Comments are welcome, but remember - commenting on my blog is a privilege. Do not abuse that privilege, or your comment will be deleted.

Thank you for joining in the discussion at! Your opinion is appreciated!