Tuesday, February 25, 2020

Second Amendment Sanctuary movement now has 25 county sheriffs on board

Following new declarations over the weekend, 25 Oklahoma counties now call themselves Second Amendment Sanctuaries.

Logan County Sheriff Damon Devereaux started a movement among county sheriffs in Oklahoma last week when he declared his county to be a Second Amendment Sanctuary County. Since Saturday, four new counties have joined with declarations of their own. I also discovered three county commission boards that passed resolutions supporting their sheriff's sanctuary declaration.

There are at least two other counties where sheriffs have made Sanctuary-sympathetic comments, but I'm waiting until they put pen to paper before adding them to this list.

The following list is in roughly chronological order, with links to each county's official statement.
  1. Logan County SheriffCounty Commissioners
  2. Stephens County Sheriff
  3. Canadian County Sheriff
  4. Haskell County Sheriff, District Attorney
  5. Bryan County Sheriff
  6. Pittsburg County Sheriff, District Attorney
  7. LeFlore County Sheriff
  8. Cimarron County Sheriff
  9. Coal County Sheriff
  10. Cotton County Sheriff, County Commissioners
  11. Kiowa County SheriffCounty Commissioners
  12. Pushmataha County Sheriff
  13. Latimer County Sheriff
  14. Atoka County Sheriff
  15. McCurtain County Sheriff
  16. Major County Sheriff
  17. Johnston County Sheriff
  18. Ottawa County Sheriff
  19. Choctaw County Sheriff
  20. Lincoln County Sheriff
  21. Caddo County Sheriff
  22. Blaine County Sheriff
  23. Creek County Sheriff, County Commissioners 
  24. Carter County Sheriff
  25. Osage County Sheriff


Post a Comment

PLEASE INCLUDE YOUR NAME when commenting. Anonymous comments may be rejected if NOT accompanied by a name.

Comments are welcome, but remember - commenting on my blog is a privilege. Do not abuse that privilege, or your comment will be deleted.

Thank you for joining in the discussion at MuskogeePolitico.com! Your opinion is appreciated!