Wednesday, November 11, 2020

Legislators: Oklahoma’s election demonstrates accurate and timely results

Oklahoma’s Election Demonstrates Accurate and Timely Results

OKLAHOMA CITY – Members of the Oklahoma House of Representatives are encouraging their colleagues from other states to model their systems after Oklahoma election laws.

“For years Oklahoma's election system has provided Oklahoma voters with rapid and undisputed results.

Through a mix of common sense quality controls, including numbered ballot pads, election night reporting, a mix of scanning technology and traditional, verifiable paper ballots, voter identification and precinct-level officials who are appointed by both of the major political parties, Oklahoma leads the nation in election policy.

We appreciated the federal court earlier this year upholding Oklahoma’s strong election laws, particularly the reasonable absentee ballot requirements the Legislature enacted through SB 210 last session. By all accounts, the Legislature's actions proved successful and Oklahoma concluded election night with yet another fair, timely outcome that has not been disputed: This included the Congressional District 5 race, which was decided by less than 13,000 votes.

We are witnessing firsthand how weak election policies of other states impact the entire nation, including Oklahoma. As demonstrated by Oklahoma, there is no reason we should have to wait days for the outcome of any election. We call on the other states to immediately pass meaningful and common sense reforms to their election processes.

The integrity of the voting process is vital to our republic. There should be no doubt as to the results if we can secure the process at the outset. Mail-in ballots that do not require proof of identity is a recipe for fraud. We have gone through this process three times at the national level in recent years with the 2000, 2016 and now 2020 elections.

As members of the Oklahoma Legislature, we ask other state legislatures across America to demand reform and pass legislation similar to SB 210 on absentee ballot integrity and SB 1779 outlawing absentee ballot harvesting in our state.”

Legislators issuing the statement include:
  • Rep. Brad Boles, R-Marlow
  • Rep. Ty Burns, R-Morrison
  • Rep. Sherrie Conley, R-Newcastle
  • Rep. Denise Crosswhite Hader, R-Piedmont
  • Rep. Sheila Dills, R-Tulsa
  • Rep. Scott Fetgatter, R-Okmulgee
  • Rep. Tom Gann, R-Inola
  • Rep. Brian Hill, R-Mustang
  • Rep. Justin Humphrey , R-Lane
  • Rep. Ronny Johns, R-Ada
  • Rep.-elect Gerrid Kendrix, R-Altus
  • Rep. Dell Kerbs, R-Shawnee
  • Rep. Mark Lawson, R-Sapulpa
  • Rep. Mark Lepak, R-Claremore
  • Rep. Ken Luttrell, R-Ponca City
  • Rep. Robert Manger, R-Oklahoma City
  • Rep. T.J. Marti, R-Broken Arrow
  • Speaker Charles McCall, R-Atoka
  • Rep. Kevin McDugle, R-Broken Arrow
  • Rep. Carl Newton, R-Cherokee
  • Rep. Terry O’Donnell, R-Catoosa
  • Rep. Jim Olsen, R-Roland
  • Rep. Charles Ortega, R-Altus
  • Rep. Mike Osburn, R-Edmond
  • Rep. Kenton Patzkowsky, R-Balko
  • Rep. Cynthia Roe, R-Lindsay
  • Rep. David Smith, R-Arepelar
  • Rep. Chris Sneed, R-Fort Gibson
  • Rep. Marilyn Stark, R-Bethany
  • Rep. Jay Steagall, R-Yukon
  • Rep. Judd Strom, R-Copan
  • Rep. Tammy Townley, R-Ardmore
  • Rep. Mark Vancuren, R-Owasso
  • Rep. Kevin Wallace, R-Wellston
  • Rep. Josh West, R-Grove
  • Rep. Kevin West, R-Moore
  • Rep.-elect Rick West, R-Heavener
  • Rep. Rande Worthen, R-Lawton
  • Sen. Michael Bergstrom, R-Adair
  • Sen. David Bullard, R-Durant
  • Sen. Nathan Dahm, R-Tulsa
  • Sen. Julie Daniels, R-Bartlesville
  • Sen. Brent Howard, R-Altus
  • Sen. Chris Kidd, R-Waurika
  • Sen. Dewayne Pemberton, R-Muskogee
  • Sen. Zack Taylor, R-Seminole
  • Sen. Darrell Weaver, R-Moore


Post a Comment

PLEASE INCLUDE YOUR NAME when commenting. Anonymous comments may be rejected if NOT accompanied by a name.

Comments are welcome, but remember - commenting on my blog is a privilege. Do not abuse that privilege, or your comment will be deleted.

Thank you for joining in the discussion at! Your opinion is appreciated!