Thursday, March 12, 2009

Official English Passes House

House Joint Resolution 1042 passed the Oklahoma House of Representatives yesterday by a vote of 66-32.

11 Democrats crossed party lines, and voted for the measure (they were as follows: Neil Brannon, Joe Dorman, Rebecca Hamilton, Scott Inman, Lucky Lamons, Ryan McMullen, Richard Morrissette, Eric Proctor, R.C. Pruett, Jerry Shoemake, and Purcy Walker). Three Republicans representatives voted against the resolution: Lisa Billy, Shane Jett, and Dan Sullivan.

Of the area representatives, Democrat Reps. Mike Brown, Ed Cannaday, Jerry McPeak and Wade Rousselot voted against it, and Republican Rep. George Faught voted for it. Faught also co-authored the HJR, and authored similar legislation in 2007 and 2008.

You can listen to the presentation and debate on HJR 1042 here.


Post a Comment

PLEASE INCLUDE YOUR NAME when commenting. Anonymous comments may be rejected if NOT accompanied by a name.

Comments are welcome, but remember - commenting on my blog is a privilege. Do not abuse that privilege, or your comment will be deleted.

Thank you for joining in the discussion at! Your opinion is appreciated!