Wednesday, December 07, 2022

Senate Pro Tem Treat announces GOP leadership team

This was sent out last week, along with Treat's assignment of GOP committee chairs and vice chairs. It is worth noting that State Sen. Rob Standridge, the conservative who challenged Treat in-caucus for the President Pro Tempore office and fell just short (allegedly by a vote of 21-19), was left out of leadership, left out of any committee chair/vice-chair position despite greater legislative seniority than most of the caucus, and assigned to the fewest committees among GOP senators.

Vindictive, much?

Senate Pro Tem Treat Announces GOP Leadership Team

OKLAHOMA CITY (Dec. 2nd) – Senate President Pro Tem Greg Treat today announced his Republican leadership team for the upcoming 59th Oklahoma Legislature that begins in February.

“I have chosen these individuals to help lead our caucus and work with the committees to ensure we are passing legislation that is in the best interest of Oklahomans,” Pro Tem Treat said. “I am honored they have accepted the opportunity to help lead the senate in these respective roles. Together, we will ensure the state is being fiscally responsible, agencies are operating efficiently and taxpayer dollars are not being wasted.”

The pro tem was reelected to his leadership role last month during the GOP caucus retreat.

The following individuals were named to Pro Tem Treat’s leadership team.

  • Senator Greg McCortney, R-Ada, Floor Leader
  • Senator Lonnie Paxton, R-Tuttle, Assistant Floor Leader
  • Senator Julie Daniels, R-Bartlesville, Assistant Floor Leader
  • Senator Roger Thompson, R-Okemah, Appropriations Chair
  • Senator Casey Murdock, R-Felt, Whip (elected at caucus retreat)
  • Senator Bill Coleman, R-Ponca City, Assistant Whip
  • Senator Dewayne Pemberton, R-Muskogee, Assistant Whip
  • Senator Cody Rogers, R-Tulsa, Assistant Whip
  • Senator Dave Rader, R-Tulsa, Republican Caucus Chair (elected at caucus retreat and ran unopposed)
  • Senator David Bullard, R-Durant, Republican Caucus Vice Chairman (elected at caucus retreat)
  • Senator Darcy Jech, R-Kingfisher, Rural Caucus Chair
  • Senator Brent Howard, R-Altus, Chief Presiding Officer


Post a Comment

PLEASE INCLUDE YOUR NAME when commenting. Anonymous comments may be rejected if NOT accompanied by a name.

Comments are welcome, but remember - commenting on my blog is a privilege. Do not abuse that privilege, or your comment will be deleted.

Thank you for joining in the discussion at! Your opinion is appreciated!