Tuesday, November 04, 2014

Big night for OKGOP

Tonight turned out to be an even bigger night for the Oklahoma Republican Party than expected.

Mary Fallin defeated Joe Dorman 55.8% to 41% for a second term as Governor. Lieutenant Governor Todd Lamb won reelection with 68.5% of the vote. Joy Hofmeister took a hard-fought 55.8% against John Cox to become the next State Superintendent. Mark Costello dispatched Mike Workman 62.8% to 37.2% for a second term as Labor Commissioner.

Jim Inhofe and James Lankford won their respective U.S. Senate races with nearly-identical percentages (68% and 67.9%, respectively). Congressmen Markwayne Mullin (70%), Frank Lucas (78.7%), and Tom Cole (70.8%) all won reelection. Steve Russell grabbed 60.1% to become the new 5th District congressman.

In the State Senate, the GOP had a big night. In SD5, Joseph Silk upset Dem. Rep. Curtis McDaniel 54.3% to 45.7%, becoming the first Republican to represent the far southeastern corner of the state in the state senate. In SD6, Josh Brecheen staved off a stiff re-election challenge, getting 53.6% of the vote. In SD8, Roger Thompson got 55.9% of the vote, perhaps also becoming the first Republican to represent the Okmulgee/Eufaula area district. That makes no Democrat state senators in the 2nd Congressional District south of I-40. In SD26, Darcy Jech got 56.9%, taking the last Democrat-held seat in western Oklahoma (outside of the Lawton area).

Add to tonight Marty Quinn taking SD2 unopposed after filing, that means the Republicans now hold 40 state senate seats, and the Democrats hold eight. EIGHT.

In the State House, Republicans held their own, despite several tough prospects. In HD45, Aaron Stiles was the only legislative Republican to lose, getting 48.9% to Democrat Claudia Griffith's 51.1%. Joe Dorman's seat went to Republican Scooter Park with 51.8% of the vote. The result of those two races mean the House stays 72 Republicans and 29 Democrats. George Faught got 56.8% in his return to HD14,  Representatives David Dank (56.4%) and Jason Nelson (53.2%) held on in tough re-election races. The GOP also retained seats vacated by Skye McNeil, Jason Smalley, Mike Jackson, Colby Schwartz, T.W. Shannon, Don Armes, and Mike Reynolds.

All in all, a great night for Oklahoma Republicans.


Post a Comment

PLEASE INCLUDE YOUR NAME when commenting. Anonymous comments may be rejected if NOT accompanied by a name.

Comments are welcome, but remember - commenting on my blog is a privilege. Do not abuse that privilege, or your comment will be deleted.

Thank you for joining in the discussion at MuskogeePolitico.com! Your opinion is appreciated!