Wednesday, March 06, 2013

RedState: Bridenstine among "gold standard for House conservatives"

Rep. Jim Bridenstine and Rep. Tim Huelskamp (R-KS) made an effort to include the defunding of ObamaCare in the Continuing Resolution that the House passed today. Their amendment was rejected.

Oklahoma Republicans will find this article by Erick Erickson posted on today:
Sixteen Republicans voted against the rule on the continuing resolution. Sixteen.

I actually thought we would get about eight.

Sixteen is a good number.

Several of them have other ambitions. Two who surprised me were Phil Gingrey and Jack Kingston of Georgia, who I suspect did not want to get beaten up on the radio tonight on the nation’s most listened to talk station, which so happens to be in Atlanta with a microphone I control during drive time.

Others are standing up too.

I will have the full list below, but RedState and other conservatives and the media should take notice of the Conservative Fight Club shaping up in the House of Representatives. There are ten members of the Conservative Fight Club. They are the nine members of the House Republican Conference who voted against the rule on the continuing resolution and voted against John Boehner for Speaker plus one guy who voted against today’s rule and was the ring leader the last time the GOP took out a Speaker.

The ten members of the Conservative Fight Club are:

Bridenstine [emphasis mine]

They are now the gold standard for conservatives in the House. They replace men like Jim Jordan and Tom Graves. Matt Salmon, who has been urging conservatives to vote down rules, is rapidly becoming a conservative leader in Congress. Though he did not vote against John Boehner, history shows he helped lead the movement to oust Newt Gingrich back in the day.

He’s finding his footing again and it is a very good thing.

The other congressmen who stood with the Fight Club are:


They should all be commended.
Noticeably absent from this list are any of Oklahoma's other House members (looking at you, Reps. Lankford, Mullin, Cole and Lucas).


Post a Comment

PLEASE INCLUDE YOUR NAME when commenting. Anonymous comments may be rejected if NOT accompanied by a name.

Comments are welcome, but remember - commenting on my blog is a privilege. Do not abuse that privilege, or your comment will be deleted.

Thank you for joining in the discussion at! Your opinion is appreciated!