Download the Oklahoma Politics Central app for Apple or Android devices!

Tuesday, November 24, 2015

Happy Thanksgiving!

It's Thanksgiving week, and I'm taking a brief blogging sabbatical. I hope you have a great week spending time with family and counting your blessings.

In the mean time, be sure and check out the links I've posted for other political blogs and sites, both Oklahoma-based and national. I've linked plenty of conservative news sources on both sidebars.

Have a happy Thanksgiving!

Monday, November 23, 2015

Republican Jarrin Jackson to run against Mullin


(November 23, 2015, Oologah, OK­) Today, Jarrin Jackson announced his campaign for the Republican nomination to Congress, Oklahoma District 2. The Rogers County resident will challenge two­-term incumbent Markwayne Mullin.

Jackson said, “I'm a combat veteran who has one unifying belief: Serve America. All of who I am, what I have done, and what I believe flows from that.”

He said, “This is a time for triage and intervention, not maintenance. Our country is getting sicker, and our enemies are using our goodness against us. We need to counter that. I am conservative, but I want to be judged by performance, not labels. I offer American values, fresh ideas, and military­-grade grit.”

Jackson said he is for limited government, and believes security is the key to freedom and opportunity. “America didn't prosper by accident back in the day. We prospered on purpose, asserting American ideals and stressing initiative. How we did it then is how we do it again.”

Jackson is a decorated, former Army Ranger who graduated from West Point and served two tours of duty in Afghanistan. A 5th generation Oklahoman, he grew up in Oologah, is married to a pediatrician, and has two boys.

Learn more by visiting

Music Monday: Simple Gifts

This week's Music Monday is a section from Aaron Copland's Appalachian Spring based on the old Shaker song Simple Gifts.


Thursday, November 19, 2015

SoonerPoll: Trump leads in OK, but Cruz and Rubio surge

SoonerPoll, in conjunction with News 9/News on 6, today released a new Oklahoma presidential primary survey showing significant changes from their last report in September.

SoonerPoll/News9/News on 6 Oklahoma Presidential Tracking Poll (PDF link)
389 likely voters registered Republican, conducted Nov. 12th-15th.
MoE +/-5.1%. Numbers in parentheses are from Sept. 1st-15th survey.

Donald Trump - 27.1% (30.8%)   -3.7%
Ted Cruz - 18.3% (6.5%)   +11.8%
Ben Carson - 17.5% (22.5%)   -5.0%
Marco Rubio - 16.3% (4.1%)   +12.2%
Mike Huckabee - 4.3% (5.0%)   -0.7%
Carly Fiorina - 2.3% (8.3%)   -6.0%
Jeb Bush - 2.2% (6.2%)   -4.0%
Rand Paul - 2.2% (0.9%)   +1.3%
John Kasich - 0.5% (2.2%)   -1.7%
Other - 2.5% (3.1%)   -0.6%
Unsure - 6.7% (10.4%)   -3.7%

Cruz and Rubio both surged around 12%, while most other candidates fell 2-6 points. Trump's lead has been cut to single digits (8.8%), and there's essentially a three-way tie for second.

The bottom ten candidates combined (14%) don't even beat the fourth place candidate (Rubio at 16.3%). The presidential primary on the GOP side is swiftly becoming a four-man race.

Wednesday, November 18, 2015

Bobby Jindal drops out of Presidential race

Louisiana Governor Bobby Jindal has ended his presidential campaign. Jindal, arguably the most conservative governor in the country for the past eight years, never really got a chance to break through into the top tier, rarely polling nationally above 1-2%. His main "strength" was in Iowa, where he polled as high as 6% -- his campaign was based on pulling out an upset win in the 'Hawkeye Caucii'.

It's a sad state of affairs when the first three GOP candidates to exit the 2016 race are conservative, successful, multi-term governors (Perry, Walker, Jindal).

Here is his full statement:
I cannot tell you what an honor it has been to run for President of the United States of America. My parents came to this country 45 years ago searching for freedom and a chance.
When I was born, we lived in student housing at LSU, and never in their wildest dreams did they think their son would have the opportunity to serve as Governor of Louisiana or to run for President.

They raised me to believe Americans can do anything, and they were right, we can. But this is not my time, so I am suspending my campaign for President.

Going forward, I believe we have to be the party of growth and we can never stop being the party that believes in opportunity. We cannot settle for The Left’s view of envy and division. We have to be the party that says everyone in this country – no matter the circumstances of their birth or who their parents are – can succeed in America.

One of the things I will do is go back to work at the think tank I started a few years ago – where I will be outlining a blueprint for making this the American century.

We must show the way forward on growing our economy and winning the war against terror, and especially defeating radical Islam.

I realize that our country is off on the wrong track right now. Everyone knows that, but don’t forget, this is still the greatest country in the history of the world – and every single one of us should start every day by thanking God that we are fortunate enough to be US citizens.

Now is the time for all those Americans who still believe in freedom and American exceptionalism to stand up and defend it. The idea of America – the idea that my parents came here for almost a half a century ago – that idea is slipping away from us. Freedom is under assault from both outside our borders and from within. We must act now, we do not have a moment to spare.

Jindal was in my initial top three out of the field. Scott Walker was who I leaned toward at the beginning, but then he dropped out. For the last two months I've been in a toss-up between Cruz and Jindal.

Jindal has the stellar conservative record of reform that we need in Washington. Sadly, the electorate this time around is more enamored with the high-on-flash-low-on-substance Donald Trump than they are with real solutions. Regardless of who becomes the GOP nominee and defeats Hilary Clinton, Bobby Jindal needs to play a prominent role in the next administration.

With Walker and Jindal now out, count me on the Cruz Crew train.

Monday, November 16, 2015

Republican John Tyler Hammons announces for SD9

Former Muskogee mayor John Tyler Hammons has thrown his hat in the ring for the GOP nomination in Senate District 9. He joins fellow Republican candidate Dewayne Pemberton, and Democratic candidate Jack Reavis. Reavis has twice run unsuccessfully for House District 14, while Pemberton is making his first run for office.

Hammons made the announcement official with a Facebook post this afternoon:

Hammons was elected mayor of Muskogee in 2008 at the age of eighteen, making him at the time the youngest mayor in the nation, and was reelected in 2010. In 2012, he left office to pursue a law degree. He passed the bar over the summer, and currently works as an assistant attorney general of the Cherokee Nation.

Senate District 9 covers portions of Muskogee and Cherokee counties (including the cities of Muskogee and Tahlequah), and is currently held by Earl Garrison (D-Muskogee), who is term-limited.

Music Monday: Preacher Tell Me Like It Is

For this week's Music Monday, we've got the Southern Gospel trio 'Greater Vision' singing their song Preacher Tell Me Like It Is.