Friday, November 15, 2013

Mayor Coburn unopposed, races in all city council seats

Muskogee Mayor Bob Coburn

Candidate filing for Muskogee's January 14th municipal elections ended yesterday. For the first time since 2002, the incumbent mayor was unopposed, electing Mayor Bob Coburn to a second term by acclamation.

In Ward I, incumbent councilor David Jones has one opponent, John Mark Lowrimore.

In Ward II, incumbent councilor James Gulley unexpectedly filed for reelection after previously announcing that he was not going to, and will face off with Michelle Green.

In Ward III, incumbent councilor Randy Howard is facing two other candidate -- Dale "D." Boots and Ivory Vann.

In Ward IV, incumbent councilor Kenny Payne did not seek reelection. Running to replace him are Marlon Coleman, Claressa Vealy-Dyer, Dean Swan, and former councilor Troy Stoutermire.

Muskogee City Council Ward Boundaries

This is the first election under Muskogee's new "ward-only" voting system. Previously, candidate's had to reside in the ward they were running for, but were elected city-wide, resulting in occasions when a candidate would win his ward, but lose across the city and thus not be elected.


Post a Comment

PLEASE INCLUDE YOUR NAME when commenting. Anonymous comments may be rejected if NOT accompanied by a name.

Comments are welcome, but remember - commenting on my blog is a privilege. Do not abuse that privilege, or your comment will be deleted.

Thank you for joining in the discussion at! Your opinion is appreciated!