Monday, December 20, 2010

RNC Chair Race Update

As the election for Republican National Committee chair gets closer, the picture as to who will be chairman for the 2012 election cycle is beginning to form.

Currently, there are six candidates in the running: current RNC Chairman Michael Steele, former Michigan GOP Chairman Saul Anuzis, former RNC Co-Chair Ann Wagner, Party chairman Reince Priebus, former Bush administration official Maria Cino and former RNC political director Gentry Collins. Steele and Anuzis were candidates in the last RNC chair election (2009).

According to's Hotline on Call blog, this is the current tally of plegded votes for each candidate. Only members of the Republican National Commitee (three per state/territory) can vote in the chair election.

Reince Priebus - 16
Michael Steele - 12
Saul Anuzis - 10
Ann Wagner - 10
Maria Cino - 3
Gentry Collins - 2
Undeclared - 115
[Steele and Priebus do not have a website that I could find]

The Daily Caller and Americans for Tax Reform will be hosting a debate with the candidates on Monday, January 3rd at 1pm EST.