Wednesday, April 01, 2015

Bill to move 2016 Presidential Primary dies in committee

SB233, which would have moved Oklahoma's Presidential Primary from the first Tuesday in March to the first Tuesday in April fourth Tuesday in March (they amended it back to the original wording), has been defeated in the State House Elections & Ethics Committee this morning.

The vote was 2 in favor, 5 opposed. The bill had been advocated for by OKGOP Chairman Dave Weston, but received strong opposition from many grassroots activists. Both Randy Brogdon and Pam Pollard, who are running against Weston for OKGOP Chair, were against the measure.

Voting in favor of the bill were Reps. Banz (R) and Joyner (R). Voting against it were Reps. Condit (D), Dank (R), Perryman (D), Rogers (R), and Wesselhoft (R).

This is a victory for keeping Oklahoma more engaged and relevant in the 2016 presidential primary.


Post a Comment

PLEASE INCLUDE YOUR NAME when commenting. Anonymous comments may be rejected if NOT accompanied by a name.

Comments are welcome, but remember - commenting on my blog is a privilege. Do not abuse that privilege, or your comment will be deleted.

Thank you for joining in the discussion at! Your opinion is appreciated!