Wednesday, March 27, 2019

Map: Majority/Plurality Party by County

In this update to my Voter Registration Maps series, we're looking at majority/plurality party by county.

Republican majority: 31 counties (27 in 2018)
Republican plurality: 12 counties (13 in 2018)
Democratic plurality: 12 counties (8 in 2018)
Democratic majority: 22 counties (29 in 2018)

There are multiple majority-Democratic counties that are in the low-50% range, and many of them will likely slip down into plurality status next year.

For comparison, here's the map from last year. Carter, Garvin, and Roger Mills counties flipped from Democratic pluralities last year to Republican pluralities this year.